Welcome to my Blog

Posted: October 2, 2011 in Introduction

Welcome to my blog!

My name is Chris Bates, my email is cbates875@gmail.com and my cell phone number is 817-913-5557.  I am a journalist looking with a real passion for sports.  I just recently gradutated from The University of Texas at Arlington with a degree in Broadcast Communication and a minor in Journalism.  I will work any position available right now to get my foot in the door, gain experience and contacts.   On my blog I will be posting all the work I have done related to the broadcasting field.  I have my articles from my time at The Shorthorn (The UTA’s award winning daily campus newspaper) as well as videos that I have shot and edited along with radio promos I recorded.  I have always wanted to work in Sports radio/ journalism   I am very good in sports statistics, I got an A in statistics during college.   I can write, record, shoot and edit films and scripts. During my time at The Shorthorn I wrote 16 articles and a link of my work will be provided in the categories outlined for your viewing.    This past summer, I interned at Clear Channel Communinications in Dallas, Tx working in the promotions department for 6 radio stations where I went to various locations throughout the D/FW metroplex.  I learned how to properly put up a pop-up, how to set up and connect the stations music with the speakers brought to every event.  One valuable thing I learned is when I did an event at the Bruno Mars concert on the first week of my internship, I did not know how to properly hang up banners and road signs but as I have gone along with the internship I have become very familiar with how to do that.  Taking the correct photo and knowing what to take to put on the stations website is another thing I had to quickly learn.

Leave a Reply

